#PB10for10 August 10, 2017

Thank you to Cathy Mere and Mandy Robek for hosting this amazing and expensive day!  It’s one of my favorite days of August!

pb10for10

Here is a list of some of my favorite read alouds of the moment. I wish I could say there is an overall theme but I don’t have one this year. They are just plain old enjoyable!

The Legend of Rock, Paper, Scissors

words by Drew Daywalt and pictures by Adam Rex

rps

My word, I can’t think of the last time I had this much fun reading a book aloud. This one brings my students, child, and me pure joy!

Jabari Jumps

by Gaia Cornwall

jabarijumps.jpg

We all know what it feels like to struggle with being brave. The picture from the little boy’s perspective looking down from that diving board is so realistic! It’s the book I chose to gift my son’s teacher as school starts.

I Just Want to Say Goodnight

by Rachel Isadora

ijustwanttosaygoodnight

Parents everywhere know what it is like to have a child who comes up with ways to delay going to bed. This is very sweet with a little literary surprise to look for at the end.

Life

words by Cynthia Rylant and pictures by Brendan Wenzel

life

Oh my gosh, I want to give this book to everyone I know. The message is universal and I’m slightly obsessed with Brendan Wenzel’s illustrations.

The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet

words by Carmen Agra Deedy and pictures by Eugene Yelchin

rooster

This book has a message everyone should hear. It’s definitely going on my Mock Caldecott list.

Triangle

words by Mac Barnett and pictures by Jon Klassen

triangle

Such a simple concept and just incredibly funny. I tested it out with fourth graders and they were enthralled. I’m glad there will be more shapes to come!

The Book of Mistakes

by Corinna Luyken

bookofmistakes

A great book for growth mindset. As we set the tone at the beginning of the year it’s good to work on re-framing our thinking to recognize the opportunities that come from our mistakes.

Claymates

words by Dev Petty and pictures by Lauren Eldridge

claymates

My son absolutely LOVES this book! We have giggled our way through it so many times this summer.

Lucia the Luchadora

words by Cynthia Leonor Garza and pictures by Alyssa Bermudez

lucia

I absolutely adore the vibrant illustrations in this book. The message about standing up for what is right and being true to yourself makes it a must-read.

Wolf in the Snow

by Matthew Cordell

wolfinthesnow

This wordless picture book has my heart. If it does not receive Caldecott hardware I will be sorely disappointed.

 

 

4 thoughts on “#PB10for10 August 10, 2017

  1. Lucia is a book I’ve been looking for for awhile but my libraries don’t have it. May have to order it since it landed on your list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

